august, 2021

20aug4:00 pmWillamette Valley Chamber Music Festival: Online Concert #2Music of Haydn, Golijov, and Perkinson


Event Details

MacArthur Genius and double GRAMMY winning Composer-in-Residence Osvaldo GOLIJOV joins Oregon Symphony Principal Clarinetist James Shields and your favorite WVCMF performers for an evening including the world premiere of his Mentre la Pioggia as well as the epic klezmer-inspired tale of The Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind. Also featured will be Haydn’s beloved “Sunrise” Quartet and Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson’s final work, Movement for String Trio.

Concert 2, Online Premiere: Aug 20, 4:00pm PDT, from J. Christopher Wines

Osvaldo GOLIJOV – Mentre la Pioggia [WORLD PREMIERE]
Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson – Movement for String Trio
Franz Joseph HAYDN – Op.76 #4, The Sunrise
Osvaldo GOLIJOV – The Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind

Sasha CALLAHAN, Greg EWER, and Megumi STOHS LEWIS, violins; Charles NOBLE, Viola; Leo EGUCHI, Cello; James SHIELDS, Clarinet


(Friday) 4:00 pm