Support the music: 1-888-899-5722

Posted on August 28, 2020

Ken Seldon

The Vancouver Symphony Orchestra will launch its 2020-21 season with a live-streamed concert that patrons can enjoy from home. Performances will feature a reduced orchestra and will be streamed live from Skyview Concert Hall. The Vancouver Symphony Orchestra will be led by award-winning conductor Maestro Ken Selden. Maestro Selden made his Vancouver debut in the summer of 2018 leading the VSO in the critically acclaimed open-air Summer Concert as part of the “Six to Sunset” Series.

Steve Bass, Oregon Public Broadcasting’s President and CEO, will emcee the performance which includes works by two prominent African American composers – William Grant Still and Pulitzer Prize winner George Walker – as well as audience favorite Elgar’s Serenade, Vivaldi’s Concerto Alla Rustica and Vaughan Williams’ Five Variants of “Dives and Lazarus”. The concert will culminate with the performance of Shostakovich’s monumental Chamber Symphony, Op. 110a (arr. Barshai) composed “in memory of victims of fascism and war.”

Saturday, September 26, 2020
6:30 pm VSO Pre-Show
7 pm Live Stream Performance

Re-Broadcast: Sunday, September 27, 2020
2:30 pm VSO Pre-Show
3 pm Re-Broadcast of Live Stream Performance

2020/21 Season Ticket Holders = Free
Individual Tickets = $30*
Student Tickets = $10*
*Additional $2.50 service fee per ticket

For more information, and to purchase tickets, visit