JOY (Joyous Outreach to You/th) is All Classical Portland’s project dedicated to equity and inclusivity, and is comprised of four programs.

JOY Programs:
International Children’s Arts Network
Youth Roving Reporters
Artists in Residence
Where We Live



International Children’s Arts Network is a 24-hour radio service, created for children (ages 0-12). Designed for young listeners, the network features music, poems, and literature from around the world.

Youth Roving Reporters is an arts journalism mentorship program. Through this innovative, educational program All Classical Portland on-air hosts mentor selected Youth Roving Reporters, providing them with guidance and insight on what it is to be a broadcaster and arts leader in their community.

Artists In Residence is a program designed to foster creative and professional growth for emerging and established performing artists. Launched in 2019, Artists in Residence provides selected young and professional musicians with access to All Classical Portland’s world-class facilities and studio time. Artists also enjoy opportunities to expand and deepen engagement with audiences, including on-air performances on Thursdays @ Three, appearances at station events and concerts, and features on special broadcasts. Artists are encouraged to pursue creative research projects and to publish related articles about their work and findings through All Classical Portland’s wide-reaching platforms. Artists receive a scholarship award to assist in their projects, performances, and continued studies. In addition, All Classical Portland will present each artist in recitals during their residency. The residency is designed to support artists in pursuit of new projects and ideas and to take creative risks.

The Rising Tide Grant is offered by All Classical Portland and provides the equivalent of the All Classical Portland Arts Partner Sponsorship Package. This grant is awarded annually to small arts organizations to support and promote creative projects that enrich the artistic landscape and strengthen the community. The Rising Tide Grant carries a value of $10,000 and may include artist promotion though the station’s on-air announcements, various programs such as Thursdays @ Three and Where We Live, email marketing, and social media campaigns.

Where We Live is a monthly radio program that celebrates the arts and community leaders; recognizes movements; and addresses issues explored through art. Through this series of on-air spotlights, we seek to promote equity, foster inclusion and encourage emotional literacy. Where We Live airs at 5:15pm on the first Saturday of each month.

Learn more: JOY Brochure 2018-2019

JOY Sponsors:
Albina Holdings
Evelyn J. Brzezinski
The Harold and Arlene Schnitzer CARE Foundation
The Oregon Cultural Trust
The Herbert A. Templeton Foundation

JOY Commission:
Josh Espinoza
Carolyn Talarr
Óscar Fernández, Ph.D.
Vin Shambry
Emily Lau
Bernadette Janet